Santa Gertrudis

Help Support CattleToday:

CCRanch

Reaction score
Going to look at a few SG bulls. Haven't had one. Any bad news out there about the breed. I will be putting them on x-bred cattle. Thanks.

CC, the only bad thing I have heard about Santa Gertrudis' is that they are almost unanimously thought of as one of the more wild breeds! I have no experience with them, that's just what I have heard many times.

What are you going to cross them with? Where are you going to look at them? I can help you with your answers a little better knowing that.
A lot of the things that people have against breeds are just opinions. Different cattle work in different locations. Being in TX, Gert bulls will work well for you, but if I know of where you are looking, I can at least tell you if I have dealt with them and what I have gotten out of the cattle that I had bought.

When we used Gert bulls the only complaint s we had were with the daughters. Too much milk and tended to be calf stealers. But that may have all changed in the past 30 plus years.

dun

dun":6oc6g0dw said:
When we used Gert bulls the only complaint s we had were with the daughters. Too much milk and tended to be calf stealers. But that may have all changed in the past 30 plus years.

dun
Showing my ignorance but what is a calf stealer?

novatech":3ds0yga2 said:
dun":3ds0yga2 said:

dun

A cow that stales other cows calves and raises them as her own.

dun

dun":nt2lwxg6 said:
novatech":nt2lwxg6 said:
dun":nt2lwxg6 said:

dun

dun
I figured thats what it was but have never seen it. Thanks

novatech":nif38nlz said:
dun":nif38nlz said:
novatech":nif38nlz said:
dun":nif38nlz said:

dun

dun
I figured thats what it was but have never seen it. Thanks

The problem it caused us was some cows drying off and breeding back but the calf stealers getting so poor that they didn;t breed back. They would also raise mediocre calves because of the insufficient milk for as many calves as they were raising.

dun