Santa Gertrudis x Braford.

Help Support CattleToday:

As a fellow salesman I would have thought you would recognize a salesman blowing smoke up your butt? 😄

Aside from the fact of Beefmaster having a long, successful, breeding program... saying that you can cross two composites and get more consistency than one composite is not even logical. That's probably the reason for most people using Hereford and not Braford. The Hereford will bring some uniformity to the gerts.

That cross is no more capable or less capable, from a breed stand point, than any other cross. They are good cattle with a lot of eye appeal. Red motts with ear with always sell.

Any time I hear some one put that much emphasis on breed its a red flag that you are getting a sales pitch.
The

As a fellow salesman I would have thought you would recognize a salesman blowing smoke up your butt? 😄

Aside from the fact of Beefmaster having a long, successful, breeding program... saying that you can cross two composites and get more consistency than one composite is not even logical. That's probably the reason for most people using Hereford and not Braford. The Hereford will bring some uniformity to the gerts.

That cross is no more capable or less capable, from a breed stand point, than any other cross. They are good cattle with a lot of eye appeal. Red motts with ear with always sell.

Any time I hear some one put that much emphasis on breed its a red flag that you are getting a sales pitch.
At some point, there is a transition from a composite which has a high level of heterozygosity, retained hybrid vigor and inconsistency; too a new breed that is more homozygous, lacks hybrid vigor and breeds consistent.
The original thought behind composite cattle was to constantly breed up composite bulls from the original breeds.

I hope they don't all have bags like the ol' darlin in the third photo down.