question from a new guy?

Help Support CattleToday:

hounddog

Reaction score
Hello all, I just found this site today while looking up info on bucket calves.
I am from NE iowa , I grew up on a grain and beef farm here. I have had a heard of 15 angus cows and an angus bull. for the most part I have gotten out of the farming and I have them more for a hobbie around here. But I am thinking of getting back into raising Holstein Bucket calves to 350 to 500 to sell. I have raised around 300 this way. but the last time that I did this was 13 years ago. I have gutted the milk stantions out of the barn at my place and have put pens in. but haven't got any calves yet.
I was wondering if anyone has any imformation orsites that have information on raising bucket calves.

hounddog

Hound dog,

Welcome to the board!

I'm not experienced with helstein bucket calves, but if you've raised 300, I'm sure your more experienced than the average. There are a lot of very experienced cattlepeople on this board, and everyone seems to have their specialty. I'm sure someone will come along soon and try to help with this.

Welcome....agree with Aero, Milkmaid should log on after morning chores...sort of the go-to-gal on Holsteins.
We're just a small market beef operation.
Sue & Dave Mc

Welcome from north Alabama as well. Sorry I ain't much help on bucket calves but several here are. Milkmaid is one of the best.

Milkmaid is definitely the person you need to talk to! She is amazing! If you want to get a head start, you could do a search for posts by author. That would give you some excellent tidbits about raising holstein bucket calves.

Well, wow, just found this thread, and thanks for all the compliments, folks. :D Went and made my week...sure makes me feel good.