Purchasing Cow/calf pairs in spring '09

Help Support CattleToday:

srockcastle

Reaction score
I am new to the beef cattle industry and am looking to purchase cow/calf pairs in the spring. I am in Western NY and was wondering where I can find them. I am looking for Devon breed or some other smaller frame score that will thrive on pasture only. I also will be looking for yearling steer to raise for direct market beef. Thanks for info.

Get yourself a good moderate framed, easy doing cow. You can find that in any breed if you look hard enough. Would suggest Murray Grey (cos I breed em ;-) ) or a small Hereford, Angus or better yet a good moderate framed, easy fleshing black baldie cow would be fine. Try to buy a cow with a bull/steer calf at foot, and confirmed pregnant again. That way not only will the cow have company but also you have your freezer beef right there ready to wean and feed out. And you dont have to worry about mating for your next calf crop.

Looking for the right individuals within mainstream breeds is gonna be a lot easier for you than looking for an unconventional breed which exhibits the same quality standard.

Also be aware that for animals to 'thrive on pasture only' doesnt mean they are gonna thrive on any old cr@p that grows up out of your ground - for pasture raised beef to work you need to put a lot of time, work and money into improving your pastures and the mix of grasses and otherwise that grow there.

Keren":s1000bf1 said:
Also be aware that for animals to 'thrive on pasture only' doesnt mean they are gonna thrive on any old cr@p that grows up out of your ground - for pasture raised beef to work you need to put a lot of time, work and money into improving your pastures and the mix of grasses and otherwise that grow there.

Just wanted to add emphasis