Potatoe waste

Help Support CattleToday:

canadianfarmboy

Reaction score
Just seeing if anyone uses potatoe waste for feeding cattle ? How do u like it ? amount u feed . I have an unlimited supply if need be , free of charge delivred . Been using it for sometime , as my father used to use it in the feedlot . Windeirng what everyone else thought of it .

I sell boxed beef for a living and I remember about 15yrs ago being told that a lot of the beef from the northwest was a little washy compared to midwest because of the use of potato peelings. I honestly don't know if that was true or not but that was the rumor.

Do a search on the web-- there is lots of information on feeding potato waste from canneries.

When I grew potatoes I fed culls when I did'nt have sale for them , when I fed them to steers the feed salesman said as long I didn't go over 10lbs per head per day they would be fine . when I fed them to cows they sometimes got more than that , I never had any problems feeding potatoes. But I don't know anything about peelings.

There are a lot of cattle on feed in the northwest that eat potatoe waste. All of the large potatoe processing plants have feedlots located somewhere nearby. Cattle do well on it. The stuff from the commercial processors tends to have a very high moisture content so you have to realize you are feeding a lot of water. I know a lot of guys who feed cull potatoes when the prices get low enough. I had one dairy farmer tell me he was feeding 10 pounds a day. His cows loved them and milk production stayed up.

Just keep in mind it is just a roughage and a poor one. They need some good groceries to go with it.

stockman12":1yjmljr4 said:
Just keep in mind it is just a roughage and a poor one. They need some good groceries to go with it.

Absolutely...very little protein, mostly water and little of anything else. And I seriously doubt the dairyman got much if any milk increase due to feeding potatoes. But if they're free then the price is right.