Photos-Stock Horse Show

Help Support CattleToday:

spinandslide

Reaction score
Some photos from a Stock Horse show I attended afew weeks ago.

http://www.photoreflect.com/scripts/prs ... &adjust=-1

These cattle were HOT! Brahma crossed with something else, but boy were they rowdy. We got a 15 out of 20 on our first box :D This neat, as this is only the fourth time my mare has seen cows, and I have very little experience with doing these stock horse shows.I used to team pen, but this is ALOT different!

..we lost the cow on the second box, so it knocked us out of the placings for that class. Lena, my mare was tired and I felt like I had to push her for alot of the class.

These are from the reining class..we got fourth, I was OK with that, we had a crappy back up and she was alittle unsure of the footing, but she worked well for me that day.

Fun day, thanks for letting me share
Sarah

Nice pictures. Thanks for sharing.

I looked at a bunch of pictures on that site and found it interesting from what I could see none of those horses were tied down. I saw some horses with their heads way up in the air. Two things come to mind. #1 we tie them down to keep their heads down to see the calf. #2 you have less chance of loosing teeth should your chin meet their head. With their head tied down you can just exit the front without impact. :lol:

I'm just thinking but most folks down here only tie their horses down for working cows, cutting, and roping.

Maybe some others will let us know how they do it in their area.

Very nice pictues...thank you for sharing

As for tie downs....I think it depends on who you talk to. Everyone seems to have a different opinion about using a tie down. Most folks I see or know that are working cattle, team penning, at rodeos, or at ropings seems to use a tie down.