OLD cow nutrition

Help Support CattleToday:

MurraysMutts

Reaction score
So recent events have me wondering.
I have zero experience with this, but I do have at least one cow I plan on keeping forever. Personal reasons and all that...

I realize all animals are different and some may or may not ever look presentable once they reach a certain age. I have a horse people friend, and they kept a horse for like 30 years. They did the horse right. He did his job for them when kids were growing up etc. So they did right by him. It got to the point they were having to mash his feed twice a day. He never looked bad, but he never looked fantastic either. I knew nothing of horses. A friend came to visit with me one time and made comment about that horse. When he learned of his age, he was amazed. Said he looked great! Anyway...

BUT!
When a cow gets very old, what does a person do to keep her in good shape?

Just personal reasons.
May seem silly but....
She is our first cow. Raised from a 400 pound calf. Wife swears she gets to live her life out here.
She feels like its owed to the cow. Lol
Female emotions and all that...

Regardless of how it happens tho, just makes a guy want to know how to take care of that kind of animal.

So recent events have me wondering.
I have zero experience with this, but I do have at least one cow I plan on keeping forever. Personal reasons and all that...

I realize all animals are different and some may or may not ever look presentable once they reach a certain age. I have a horse people friend, and they kept a horse for like 30 years. They did the horse right. He did his job for them when kids were growing up etc. So they did right by him. It got to the point they were having to mash his feed twice a day. He never looked bad, but he never looked fantastic either. I knew nothing of horses. A friend came to visit with me one time and made comment about that horse. When he learned of his age, he was amazed. Said he looked great! Anyway...

BUT!