Odd problem with barbed wire fencing???

Help Support CattleToday:

ckbrownla

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I have an issue where the fenced area that I maintain is
developing problems in the barbed wire fencing side. :?: The fence is a
wood post anchors/ painted metal t-posts construction. The wiring is
barbed wire on one side of the t-posts and electric fence on the other side.
The fence has held up well for quite a while since I assisted in the installation
of the electric fence portion in 2011. I have maintained the electric fence
since then. The problem is that the barbed wire has developed rust
problems to the point of danger of breaking the wire. :help: The rust seems
to start on the wire along the flat surface of the the t-posts. Anyone
have any experience with this problem? We are located in the north-east
corner of Louisiana in West Monroe, LA.

Please message me back with any questions that you may have.
I am not that experienced with barbed wire.

Thanks in advance for your assistance,
ckbrownla

4 years shouldn't be enough time to degrade the wire that much. Sounds almost like a dialectic corrosion issue.

That's trouble, because the first time one of the wires breaks your whole electric fence will be shorted into the ground through those steel posts. Then the next bit will go, and the next...

I don't know anything about barb either. Any time a rusted wire (high tensile) breaks here I replace the whole rusted out section with new wire. Don't bother doing it pre-emptively, just wait for it to break first & it'll only break once.

Look to the coating on that barb wire & is the T-post rubbing through it? If it's relatively new wire it might not have the best coating for your area, or a plastic spacer might protect it better.

I think the OP is stating that there is an older barb wire fence that he/she put hot wire opposite of in 2011. If I am reading correctly, hot fence on one side if the T-post and barb wire on the other.