not chewing cud/ manure runny/low bellied steer

Help Support CattleToday:

ashcivic

Reaction score
I am new to cattle. I bought a 400lb steer and recently put him on new grass after coming from auction and hay for two days. Now he has the runs, not chewing cud at all, and his penis is big and belly is hanging low. what should be done? Is this bloat or an absess? He is still eating grass and walking. He did have his horns cut recently. I did feed him some corn and he was eating a lot of dirt/manure off barn floor. Now he is licking his mouth a lot.

hi,
if it were still available i would recommend Dr. Bells. However, i guess the first thing would be some bloat ease and maybe some rumminex(sp?) boluses. That's a place to start.
T

Sounds like accidosis (licking dirt). Put him on just hay & water. You should give him some Probios to get the rumin working again. From all his stress (trucked, auction, trucked, dehorned, new feed, etc) the good bugs in his gut have been killed.
New cattle should ONLY get good quality grass hay & water to be safe for a few days.
Grain is fine after a few days of being HEALTHY, but only 1% of his body weight/day. So if he's 400#, he will be able to get 4# a day (2# in AM & 2# in PM). If you are wanting to feed more grain, wait 7 days of him cleaning up his feed than up it slowly every 7 days til he's getting 3% of his body weight.
Don't understant the "penis is big & belly is hanging low". There is a condition called water bellie, where their sheath gets fluid in it, but I'm not familiar with it.