New land purchase

Help Support CattleToday:

cbe462

Reaction score
I am extremely new to cattle raising, so new in fact I haven't started yet. My wife and I are leaving the city and are currently looking for houses with acreage well outside the big city (East Texas). We aren't looking to start a large cattle operation but looking to raise meat for our consumption and a few others (5-10 head) to help cancel out costs. I do realize this is a very open ended question, but this board is fascinating with some really good advice..."what are the must haves when searching for property" to raise cattle. We are looking at no less than 20 acres and hopefully upwards towards
50-100 depending on what we find where. Just looking for a few ideas, we have already read "storey's guide to beef cattle" which has been very helpful. Thanks in advance from this greenhorn!

1) Find a mentor in the area you are interested in.
2) Read as many posts on this forum on the subjects you want to research,then post clear questions to clarify any points you wish to clarify.

Get your place first, decide how many head it will carry and you want to fool with (consult your county extension agent, or a neighbor in the cattle business),make sure you have water,and facilities to work the cattle in place before you buy your first one. Try to buy your cattle by private treaty if you can,(from an individual,might keep you from getting burned at the local salebarn). Look for cow - calf pairs, if possible bred cow - calf pairs, (or a 3-fer). Find a mentor close by that you can call on for advice, be a good neighbor and help him when you can, it will pay off in spades.And oh! by the way...Murray grey crosses make mighty good eat'in!! ;-) :cboy: :)