New guy needs some advice

Help Support CattleToday:

Billy_Bob

Reaction score
I am a college student and have been trying to think of some ways to earn a little extra money this summer. I am thinking of buying a handful of feeder steers and letting them graze in a pasture my family used for cows up until last year. I was plannig on getting them in early to mid May and selling them in August. I guess I want to know how profitable this is? How much would it cost to feed them or would they get by fine on just grazing (there would be plenty for a handful of steers). How much weight would they gain in those few months on each method? Would it be more profitable to just let them pasture or to supplement the grazing with something? Water and fencing would not be a problem a creek runs through the property and I am experienced fixing fences so that would be no problem. I live in southern Minnesota. Not sure what breed would be best, needs to be something I could get locally though. Also not really familiar with what a good price is for a feeder calf, I have looked at a few local sales barns to try to get an idea but there is a huge differnce in prices there. Sorry for the rant had to get it out its been in my head for a few days now. Any advice would be great.