New Farmer. Any advice?

Help Support CattleToday:

JohnBoysWife

Reaction score
My mother in law owns a small farm. Since my father in law passed away a year and a half ago my husband and I have kind of taken over the operation. In the spring was my first time raising chicks so I researched a bunch and got that figured out now on to cattle. We previously had 2 cows. One is at the butcher as we speak. We just purchased two 3/4 simm-angus heifers born in March the other day. I've never worked with calves before. We are feeding them hay and purina precon since that is they were being fed. My questions are what and how much should we be feeding them, is there something we shouldn't give them, and what's the next step? Our other cows are given hay, corn, and sweet mix. Should we transition the calves to sweet mix soon? My mother in law knows about farming. I call it old school farming because it's just everything her dad did. Since we've got involved I question why things are done the way they are for my personal knowledge and to see if there's a more efficient way. I just want to do what's best for the animals. She said we need to start feeding them apples. So I researched it and now I'm afraid they're going to choke. I'm like a first-time mother so any advice I would greatly appreciate. Thank you in advance!

Welcome to the forum. I'd gradually transition them off the Purina Pre-conditioning feed and onto the same feed you're giving the older cattle. And I don't know anything about feeding apples, but I've occasionally fed pears to heifers for a treat. I always cut them into smaller pieces; 1/4 sections or smaller.