Need some personal advice

Help Support CattleToday:

Calhoun Farm

Reaction score
Long story short I work in IT, friend of mine (co-worker) came over to my cube a couple months ago telling me how he had been working on a payroll computer and had printed out everyone's salary and took it home. At first it didn't bother me and I tried to just put it out of my mind. Well, last week he came over and started bragging about it again and this time it really ticked me off.

He tried to play it off like he didn't look at mine, but I know thats BS. He quoted probably 8 or 10 guys salary to me so I know he knows what I make, along with our director and the CIO/VP of IT. My question is, should I say something to my director? I like the guy don't get me wrong, but he has 3 kids and a wife that works part-time. He also lives in a double wide in backwoods GA. I just don't want to be responsible for his kids starving if he got fired.

I just don't know what to do

I would tell him I'm not interested in that sort of information and would appreciate him not sharing anymore with me. I would explain my reason as not knowing how acceptable this type of behavior is to management. I would tell him my job is important to me and I don't want to jeopardize it by knowing too much about any actions on his part if problems arise. That's as far as I would take it.

fitz

If he's told you, he's likely told others as well.

If you like the guy, pull him aside and tell him he's an idiot for jeopardizing the welfare of his children who are depending on him.
Tell him to shut up, mind his own business, and do the job well and maybe he'll survive.

If you don't like him, keep quiet and mind your own business, let the chips fall.

I agree with Fitz. That's confidential information so he should shut his trap. I wouldn't take it any further either, it will soon enough catch up with him.