Most Tame Breed

Help Support CattleToday:

Andrew

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm new to cattle and would like to know if anyone has any opinion as to what the most tame breed would be from the list below:
Angus
Brahma
Brangus
Hereford
Beefmaster
Charolais

The reason I ask is because I have at least one of the above cows. When I started out about a year ago I heard so much about different breeds that I wanted to find out for myself and thus bought the cows from different places. None are registered. I'm just going by what the sellers told me.
I want to keep cows that are the least mean. I've already been chased by one of my brahma cross twice and it wasn't fun. But I don't know if it was just that individual cow or attributed to the breed. Someone one another post said brahmas will be aggressive at times. None of the others even act threating but it may just be because some don't have a calf yet. I've found that herefords to be quite friendly and the least aggressive even with a newborn calf.
However, I would like to hear from more experienced cattle people.

Thanks,
Andrew

herefords are considered one of the most docile breeds, even though I've seen some killers. There are nuts in every breed. from my personal experience bramers and bramer crosses are the highest strung

I agree that all breeds have their nuts and their angels and their 'tweeners. I have had Brahman F1's that will eat cubes out of a kid's hand out in the pasture, and same type crosses that glare at you over the fence and won't let you in the pasture! Most breeds claim some degree of docility. And most breeds claim good mothering instincts - which may mean that they'll chase your hiney into the truck. You've just got to look them over, get to know them, and make your own picks.
Maybe there ought be a docility EPD? :roll:

i would say the most docile, in general, of the ones listed would be beefmaster, hereford, and angus.