Modified Beefmaster - Anyone tried it?

Help Support CattleToday:

East Caney

Reaction score
I've been thinking and thinking about what would work best for me. I'm new to this but ideas seem to hit me left and right about what I should try. Not enough land or money for the ideas that come running through my mind...Anyway, here it goes.

How about putting a good Santa Gertrudis bull on tigerstripe mamas? It would be 7/16 Brahman, 5/16 Shorthorn, and 4/16 Hereford....a touch less brahman replaced by shorthorn blood. Good idea or should good enough be left alone?

And you hereford guys, what does hereford put into the beefmaster? I'm honestly looking for the traits that a beefmaster gets from hereford. From what I read, Shorthorn has better carcass traits and milking ability on average, so I was just wondering.

Know this is a bit long, so thanks for all of you who reply.

I used to have a Gertrudis bull, and some tiger striped mommas... we got some great calves in that mix.
Most of my cows are beefmasters, but now have a black limo, and I am getting the best calves I have ever seen. But my bull.. hes a dandy!!

I would think that the hereford add heterosis as well as heavier bone and rustling ability, but mostly its about how the three breeds complimented each other in the foundation herd.

Limomike":3hnd6usy said:
I used to have a Gertrudis bull, and some tiger striped mommas... we got some great calves in that mix.
Most of my cows are beefmasters, but now have a black limo, and I am getting the best calves I have ever seen. But my bull.. hes a dandy!!
Your beefmasters are good mammas?

I would think the hereford might add some hardiness and resistance to cold weather - they might be able to grow some hair.