Making Bacon

Help Support CattleToday:

Wewild

Reaction score
I would like some recipes to make pork belly bacon. This is my first time and didn't have nitrite so as I understand the meat will not maintain its color.

Mixture of salt and brown sugar.

DSCN2901.jpg

DSCN2906.jpg

You can still buy Mortons Sugar Cure, I saw it recently in small town grocery store. Also there's "Buckboard Bacon" cure made by Hi Mountain. www.himtnjerky.com. I have used it to cure bacon but it had already been sliced raw, so it didn't take long. A solid piece of meat like that is probably a 7-10 day cure?

MO_cows":1d9hh2mw said:
You can still buy Mortons Sugar Cure, I saw it recently in small town grocery store. Also there's "Buckboard Bacon" cure made by Hi Mountain. http://www.himtnjerky.com. I have used it to cure bacon but it had already been sliced raw, so it didn't take long. A solid piece of meat like that is probably a 7-10 day cure?

Yeah 7-10 days or till firm in the middle. I ordered the Morton's Tenderguick and Sugar cure but don't have them yet. Thinking about hot smoking 1/2 of it as a comparison.

Thanks for the link and Thanks Vette.

This was a 6# slab and I froze the other 25 till I get the stuff from Morton's. You can't seem to buy it around here. $50 for 31# of meat.

Day 1 and moisture is being pulled out.

DSCN2911.jpg

MO_cows":28atblub said:
Wondering if the vacuum sealing might help it cure faster? Maybe a 5 day cure?

Don't know. They say botulism doesn't like oxygen. I did a partial vacuum with a vacuum seal bag for the durability of the bag. I read that somewhere. I finally got the cure salts with the nitrates and nitrites. Might do some next weekend. The prepared bacon has browned but is firm. It should be ready this weekend.

Wewild":2mhasour said:
MO_cows":2mhasour said:
Wondering if the vacuum sealing might help it cure faster? Maybe a 5 day cure?