Maine Anjou questions

Help Support CattleToday:

Betty

Reaction score
I am a retired veterinarian with a small herd of Reg Angus, 1/4 of which have NH, so we are looking for another direction.
Maine Anjou were suggested to me. I think of these cattle as having a ton of bone, being colored, having horns, and the only one I saw in practice was - well- "reactive" would describe it.
Looking on internet, I see cattle with a fine head, tons of hair, all are black, most are polled, and they don't look boney and huge either. They look GREAT.
Comments?

Betty":6mnzaykr said:
I am a retired veterinarian with a small herd of Reg Angus, 1/4 of which have NH, so we are looking for another direction.
Maine Anjou were suggested to me. I think of these cattle as having a ton of bone, being colored, having horns, and the only one I saw in practice was - well- "reactive" would describe it.
Looking on internet, I see cattle with a fine head, tons of hair, all are black, most are polled, and they don't look boney and huge either. They look GREAT.
Comments?
Enough Angus and you can make even a Maine look good (Chi too)

Here are some bulls I have seen calves out of, they are all TH and PHA free and calving ease.

Ali 307184 or his clone Ali2
I have an Ali Cow she came small and grew like a weed, her bull calf this year was about 75 pounds and he is growing like weed. moderate framed and balanced

Ali sons
Tyson 364424 90.63% Calves are like his fathers, consistent and balanced

Discovery 392126 50% he is out of the WAg Hairietta cow, if you google her you can see how many sons she has that are sons she has in service.

Dirty Hairy 349907 75% throws balanced calves the come easy and are very eye appealing.

Other bull I have seen quality calves out of

Majors Money Man 270242 hi% Sound balnced Calving ease,

The calves out of all these bulls have been mellow and handle easy, they tend to not look like much when they hit the ground but do nothing but get better as they grow.