Longhorn Breeders - Question about Longhorn Bull

Help Support CattleToday:

twodogpointer

Reaction score
I'm trying to decide whether to register this bull. He was one year old Dec. 28th. I'm keeping some of my current bulls heifer calves so I will need a replacement. I bought this one with his mother. He is out of Lethal Blade who is a son of Lethal Weapon.

Bullet1.jpg

Bullet2.jpg

Thanks

Welcome twodogpointer,

Man, he's got a big head! I'm not experienced enough with longhorns to give you an adequate answer, but we have some longhorn people here: Warpaint, Rustler, Ryan - sorry if I left anyone out. I'm sure they'll be along to give their advice.

cypressfarms":193qr401 said:
Man, he's got a big head!
I was thinkin the same thing. :lol: I'd say he's decent but we've got a few Longhorn breeders and enthusiasts on here that can give you a better answer than I could.

I like his flashy color and I like his horns; but he looks too narrow to me, even for a longhorn. A chipmunk couldn't fit between his front feet in that photo. There is no muscling at all that I can see anywhere. His loin looks lacking, he needs more muscle expression, spring of rib, width, and thickness. IF I am evaluating him as a BEEF animal, I say cut his nuts off and don't register him. IF he is going to be an ornamental Longhorn for folks that just like to have a pretty hide and a big set of horns to look at.....feed him better and by all means register him.

Nice animal. I personally wouldn't keep him as a bull. Lacking in several areas that I like in a herd sire. He has a nice top line but very weak in the hind. I am a fan of Lethal Weapon, but this one comes up short in my opinion.

I do however think he would make an excellent steer. Good color and a very nice set of horns for his age. IMO cut him and register as a steer. Make some fine pasture art!! :cboy:

100_0050.jpg