john deere round baler

Help Support CattleToday:

tiger hunter

Reaction score
are the late model john deere balers like the 7 or 8 series.as good as everyone says.have always used vermeer and new holland round balers.but not a john deere yet.getting service for any of the balers is not a problem in my area.

I've been running a 467 for 5 years now. Love it. After we got the kinks worked out the first year, there have been no more problems.

I would buy another today if I were not going to keep this one forever.

grannysoo":fn3p9ctf said:
I've been running a 467 for 5 years now. Love it. After we got the kinks worked out the first year, there have been no more problems.

I would buy another today if I were not going to keep this one forever.

I bought a 458 this year but have only run 400 through it so far. Mine needed adjustment on the twin arm to make it cut the twin every time. Another kink is the opening of the gate. When it is full and I open the gate to dump the roll some times it hange as soon as I try to open it. I have to bump it closed and then open it. Any idea what is wrong?
What bugs did you have with yours?

alabama":1xtyjsev said:
I bought a 458 this year but have only run 400 through it so far. Mine needed adjustment on the twin arm to make it cut the twin every time. Another kink is the opening of the gate. When it is full and I open the gate to dump the roll some times it hange as soon as I try to open it. I have to bump it closed and then open it. Any idea what is wrong?
What bugs did you have with yours?

The sensors for the bale-trac monitor needed adjusting, the actuator for the netwrap had to be replaced, and a spring was "missing" from the time we got it. The biggest bug I had with it was the operator learning to use it. :lol:

I don't know of any reason the gate would hang when trying to open it. If it does not close good, you need to clean the debris out from around the locking mechanism.