Jersey cow due to calve in Dec...I'm new to this!

Help Support CattleToday:

supermom723

Reaction score
I have a 850lb Jersey family milk cow, 4 years old, and vet preg checked her last week and said she's 4 months. I had hoped she was bred, and I called the farmer I got her from and he said 90% chance she was bred by a Jersey bull.
That said, I'm new to livestock. I know Jerseys are easy calvers, and this will be her 3rd, and my neighbors on both sides run cattle, so I have help if I need it. My vet will surely he available too. But I'm wondering if anyone has any advice as far as.what to have on hand. She's extremely gentle, and her stall is about 10x12, and is 50 feet from the house. It'll be December in Missouri, so it could be 65 degrees or 25 degrees, but I just want to be prepared! I've read about pulling calves, cows going down, and I don't know how to prepare!
Thanks...we are so excited, but I don't want anything to go wrong!
Nikki

Just relax and let her do her thing. When the time comes she will probably be just fine. If there appeared to be a problem just call a neighbor or your vet. Nothing to do or worry about for a few months yet. Congrats on he cow.

Isomade":fivdvcj1 said:
Just relax and let her do her thing. When the time comes she will probably be just fine. If there appeared to be a problem just call a neighbor or your vet. Nothing to do or worry about for a few months yet. Congrats on he cow.
Bingo, best answer possible at this point in time!

Jerseys are extremely easy calvers and are also extremely resiliant as compared to other dairy breeds. They are, however, metabolic trainwrecks if the nutrition isn't right. I'd put out some mineral for the last trimester to make sure she gets everything she needs and then forget about the calving part. Once she calves get her full of dry matter so she doesn't produce more milk than her body can afford to give.

cow pollinater":1uzz5p4p said: