Is it worth it financially?

Help Support CattleToday:

A 5ft roll of hay around here is around $25 for the best, but there is always deals. We found a guy who is selling them for $6 each because they were three years old, but they had been kept in the dry! We average about 7 rolls per cow during the average winter.

I've been raising cattle in Ky for 35 years. Every year I wonder why I do it. Financially it makes no sense what so ever. A small operation here would have to be strictly for enjoyment. Keep every receipt, figure depreciation, and fuel. You will see quickly its just a hobby.

herofan":qwd38rm4 said:
A 5ft roll of hay around here is around $25 for the best, but there is always deals. We found a guy who is selling them for $6 each because they were three years old, but they had been kept in the dry! We average about 7 rolls per cow during the average winter.

Newbie here so excuse the ignorance but each cow eats you through 7 rolls of hay so 10 cows is 70 rolls?

I could go on for hours on this subject.
One of the most important things I would say is to get yourself as educated as possible. Because I manage a farm and I am trusted with someone else's money I have made it my responsibility to know the who what when where why and how of every input into the business. I have previously used consultants with the attitude "they have plenty of money, they can afford it". So education is a big part of my job and its great for self development.
It is also great to find a mentor or 2. I find the best ones just naturally impart knowledge without even realising, you may not agree with everything they say but they can help you can to form your own philosophy.
Just my :2cents:

herofan":85zq0zhd said: