Ideal Frame Score?

Help Support CattleToday:

cotton1

Reaction score
I have been thinking about frame score lately and a mature weight for my cattle. I was wondering what other breeders think is ideal. I have been thinking frame 6-6.5 with grown mamas in the 1250-1400lb range. I used to think 1100lbs was enough cow. It seems the cattle today are larger in general in all the breeds. Im not sure if its that or not too long ago most folks didnt weigh anything until it went across the auction block,nothing on farm.I want to produce a smaller more effecient cow going forward. Some of my first attempts have been successfull giving me 3 year olds that are just at 5.9/6.0 frame and are in the 1250lb range.They weaned their first calves at 5.7-6.1fs and 635-699 weights. I read a thread on here about a bull that was maybe producing frame 4 offspring, I think Angus.Just curious what others think. I am a Charolais producer and I think frame 6 and 1300lb. looking forward to what others in the commercial and different registered breeds think work. Maybe I need to change my mind to suit the commercial sector?

What is your end market and what is your preferred management style? Get animals that will allow you to make good money, over a long period of time, paying attention to both questions.

Personally, I'm a grass-only guy and find that any cow over 1400lbs in my management style (at a frame of 5.5 or so) will melt. I need shorter animals more than I need lighter animals; short (height), wide and deep will work quite well for what I'm trying to do.

This cow was about 1400-1450lbs but was a frame 5.

WCCC_Violet_-_8yrs_old.jpg

For me, frame 4.5 - 5.5 is a good range of height for me. Weights on mature cows should (for me) be in the range of 1200 - 1400, with possibly a little more variation on the lighter side than the heavier side (i.e., I'm more likely to have a 1000lb cow than a 1600lb cow).