How to tenderize chicken breasts?

Help Support CattleToday:

OakCreekRanch

Reaction score
We have some commercial Cornish X chickens (they were rejects from Gold' N' Plump so I got them for free) here. Most of times they were tough and chewy every time we cooked the chicken. I tried to pound them with a mallet but I ended up ruined them. Anyone have better tips for how to tenderizing the chicken breasts?

Also I am new to chicken thing but I have few questions about chicken keeping. Should I separate the runts from the big guys to growing the runts to the acceptable size for butchering or just leave them with the big guys?

Hook":39ibyr01 said:
How long did you grow them for, to what size?
To 3-5lbs in shortest time as possible. The big guys will be butchered first soon so the runts should have the whole pen to themselves.

Pressure cooler, orange juice, crock pot and dumplings.

Just for reference, we just butchered 17 Cornish cross. 10 weeks total time and they were kept penned up so they didn't forage and get tough. Average live weight. 7-8lbs.
I don't know enough to say that's good or bad, but they aren't tough. They are flavorful though. Not in a bad way. Just richer

I've heard that broilers (the white commercial types) don't forage that much, is that true? The big guys we have here are rather lazy but that's fine we don't need have them run faster than us. Is it okay to feed them food scraps?

The reason Orange Juice works is the acid breaks them down a bit. Pineapple juice will do the same thing and papaya will also with an enzyme that is a natural tenderizer.

OakCreekRanch":25ji2vnp said:
I've heard that broilers (the white commercial types) don't forage that much, is that true? The big guys we have here are rather lazy but that's fine we don't need have them run faster than us. Is it okay to feed them food scraps?