Holsteins or Jerseys? Pros and Cons?

Help Support CattleToday:

Reaction score
Im just getting into the cow buisness and Im going to be bottle feeding some calves and reselling them around 6 months old or so. Anyway Im trying to decide between Holsteins and Jerseys. Which would you choose and why? Talk about the pro and cons of each. Like as far as raising each and maybe the sell price of each. I appreciate any input.

ok lets talk jerseys 1st.the jersey calf is born looking for a place to die.hence they are hard to raise an keep alive.now mind you they have to have moms 1st milk.an even then its a tough go.that said id rather raise holsteins or crosses.an i have done so an lost my shirt.the death losses are killers.you might buy 8 calves an lose 8 calves.that can an does happen.

What is your goal and what type facilities do you have?

If you are looking to buy calves and sell them at 6 months, and that's it, go with beef splits. Go to the salebarn and find cow/calf pairs that are split because the cows are old and no one is bidding. Buy that calf when it is split. It is best to get them about 2 weeks old if you can. You may have a hard time getting them to take a bottle the first couple of times at that age, but you'll get a lot more profit selling beef calves at 6 months old versus dairy steers.

If you are looking for heifers to make nurse cows out of, I prefer jerseys. Other than that, I prefer holsteins.

Lately, I just graft splits onto a nurse cow. Splits that are two weeks old generally are already healthy and you can pretty much rest assured they received colostrums from the cow when they are beef animals.

Hi ya
Why this type of calf, dont get me wrong i like jerseys.
Why not angus or herfords they would be easier to rear and easier to buy. :D

Ive found that angus and hereford are alot more expensive calves than the dairy calves is why I was looking at either the Holstien or Jersey. Have really been leaning towards Holsteins more than anything.