heifer found dead this morning

Help Support CattleToday:

shanbruce

Reaction score
I am new to cattle farming and new to this site. We have around 12 mixed breed beef cattle. Yesterday one of the heifers (Santa Gertrudis/Charlois cross) was laying down under a shade tree. I never thought anything about it or the fact that she wasn't with the rest of the herd until this morning when I left for work, she was still there only laying on her side, back legs were stiff, pink foam was coming out of her nose. My cousin had stopped by this morning and saw her too. He went out to check on her because he thought she may be calving. He said there was mucous coming out of her rear. If she was bred, she was only in her first stage. Does anyone have any info on something like this? She was fine the day before.

The only way to tell for sure is to get the Vet out and have him cut her open . Most of the time they can tell you why a cow died.

was the discharge clear/ bloody/or was it infection? and are you sure about her calving date? any time one is off by itself there is a reason. their either calving/sick or bullied. it always,always deserves investigating

I don't know. He just said mucous. I know she had just been bred probably not even 2 months ago. I will look more after work and probably post again Monday. Thank you for your advice. You are right. I should have paid more attention that she was by herself. That is a lesson I won't forget.

ALACOWMAN":lh3scxql said:
was the discharge clear/ bloody/or was it infection? and are you sure about her calving date? any time one is off by itself there is a reason. their either calving/sick or bullied. it always,always deserves investigating

shanbruce":1tuhh8fi said:
I should have paid more attention that she was by herself. That is a lesson I won't forget.

shanbruce I have caught them in plenty of time, hauled them to the vet, and still lose them. The difference there is you still have a vet bill to pay, along with losing the cow.