Hay field pasture question

Help Support CattleToday:

BryanM

Reaction score
I am adding 6 acres of hayfield on too my pasture, and have a couple questions: its a 3rd year hay field 75% alfalfa 25% orchard grass. Iplan on fencing it in and taking the first cutting off of it then use it for pasture on a rotational basis. it will me grazed by beef cows and calves just a half dozen or so.
2 questions will it be to rich for cows and calves? and the next question if it sets empty for winter will I have a problem with haying it on first cut? I am thinking of cow patties and such? thanks

I want to offer an answer from an academic perspective. Don't use my answer, but I want it graded by others here with their vast real world experiences. I am a student not a practitioner.

I'd say take you first cut, and maybe a second for hay. Rotate your grazing for a short cycle with paddocks approaching 100,000 pounds per acre during the warmer months, supplementing with hay if the alfalfa is still high in energy and low in fiber.

Reference:
http://forages.oregonstate.edu/php/fact ... p?SpecID=1

We have a hay baling business. Lots of folks have little meadows like that and cows graze it part time.

Pull the cattle off the pasture about 2 to 4 weeks before your last frost is usually due (for us we would pull the cattle out in March). And fertilize at that time right before a good rain (we like chicken poop).

Personally I would not feed hay all winter in the hay meadow just to keep it from getting messed up with mucky areas.

Get your hay cut either once or twice, then when you are done, let the cows back in to graze for the rest of the year.

You will want to be diligently spraying for weeds and such. I do not recommend fertilizing while cattle are actively grazing.

If you bale it while they are grazing it, you won't get much hay.

Brute 23":2acduy0d said:
There are two basic principals that I have adopted with the drought.

1) Never skip baling hay that can be baled.