Handling Equipment

Help Support CattleToday:

iamamy

Reaction score
Newbie here. I have a handy down powder river chute. I am planning to add an alley, palpitation gate and sweep tub. My questions are, for the same money should I stay with powder river or move to another brand. Also would you go with the sheeted? I have a small cow/calf operation. I run about 20 mama cows and around 40 steers in the summer.

I have a nearly new Powder River XL chute. Behind it is a Prefierts palp cage that was here when I bought this place. Then a very old Powder River alley. Then a Big Valley sweep that I got at an auction, it was nearly new. Not all these pieces are exactly designed to lock together but pieces of chain work to cure that. When my ship comes in I plan to replace that alley.

Brand of preference largely depends on where you are located. And customer service will go right along with that. I am in the PNW. You will see more Powder River than anything else around here. The people on here from Texas and Oklahoma speak very highly of Prefierts. Here you see very little of their products.

Sheeted is nice if it is in your budget. I have a product used in pulp mills called drier felt. It looks like canvas with metal woven into it. It lasts forever. I zip tied it to the tub and any gates I want to look solid. For me it was free which makes it a lot cheaper than buying sheeted and provides the same results.

Dave said:
I have a nearly new Powder River XL chute. Behind it is a Prefierts palp cage that was here when I bought this place. Then a very old Powder River alley. Then a Big Valley sweep that I got at an auction, it was nearly new. Not all these pieces are exactly designed to lock together but pieces of chain work to cure that. When my ship comes in I plan to replace that alley.