Green board and batten siding

Help Support CattleToday:

skyhightree1

Reaction score
i just milled some poplar board and batten siding for my new polebarn i have never used green wood before... i plan on painting this next year but I wondered if i could spray it with oil diesel and boric acid to prevent termites and to seal it. if i do that will i be able to paint it next year when its completely dried out ? I also wondered if i should spray some form of termite killer on it as well. I was gonna use treated 5/4 in decking boards across the raftors to screw the metal roofing too has anyone ever used that?

My experience with green wood is that you better fasten it down tight and the nails/screws close togehter. Otherwise it will warp and shrink way to much to be much use.

skyhightree1":12rbbx3t said:
i just milled some poplar board and batten siding for my new polebarn i have never used green wood before... i plan on painting this next year but I wondered if i could spray it with oil diesel and boric acid to prevent termites and to seal it. if i do that will i be able to paint it next year when its completely dried out ? I also wondered if i should spray some form of termite killer on it as well. I was gonna use treated 5/4 in decking boards across the raftors to screw the metal roofing too has anyone ever used that?
Depending on rafter spacing, plain old 2x4 or 2x6 yellow pine is fine. Don't need the preservitives, It is under the roof and will stay dry if you use tech screws to fasten the tin.