Getting birth weight on new born calf

Help Support CattleToday:

KYFarmKid

Reaction score
I am just getting started in the registered angus business, I have been helping my dad with his commercial cow-calf my whole life but recently purchased my first registered cow. I am hoping to have my first calf crop this fall (3-4 calves). My question is what is the best way to go about collecting their birth weight and tagging the calf? They will be born in a 1/2 acre lot with easy access both the barn and cattle working pens/chute.
I realize that some farms just estimate these weights, but I am not very good at guessing weights, and for the accuracy of my own records I would like to get an actual weight.
Also is there any shots you would recommend giving them at birth?
Thank you for the help!!

You need an accurate weight to turn in to the breed association. (Not a guesstimate.) I will take a regular people scale out and place it on a board, weigh myself, then weigh myself holding the calf. There are weight tapes that you can purchase through Valley Vet (or others) that are fairly accurate. They measure around the top of the hoof at birth. Then there are various light duty hanging scales that you can purchase also. So you have a few options. You need to do it within a few hours after birth if the cow will let you.

Vaccines- I use Inforce 3 intranasal (Respiratory), Oral Rota Corona (Scour protection), and either Multi min or Muse injection. I treat the navel with Iodine and you can tag then also. I do this as quickly after birth that I can, without causing any issues with mamma cow. Some times you can just pull the calf right under the fence to get it done. :D

BTW-Do all this before that calf knows that it can run like a gazelle and you can do it in an open field. I try to take someone else with me to watch my back for mamma cow. Mine are all good at this point though. I just take them some grain or hay to keep them occupied.