Ford Diesel Engines?

Help Support CattleToday:

Kell-inKY

Reaction score
I need a real farm truck, but can't afford something nice. I'm going to go look at a '91 F350 today with 7.3 diesel. I have no experience with diesels, have heard these engines are bulletproof but I am assuming this one has at least 300k on it. What kind of maintenance for this type of engine, anything to look out for, any advice at all?

I do all of my own mechanical work on vehicles including rebuilding a few engines, but have no experience with injectors and the like. I don't really want something I have to work on all the time though either, I just don't have time anymore.

Edited because of my "powerstroke" confusion.

Great motor...The injectors run off of high pressure oil. Keep up with the oil/filter changes and they are good to go. Do they have maintenance records?

EDIT: I see it is a '91 that is pre-powerstroke turbo that came out in '96

I'd look for something with less miles personally, but it may be OK. There will be worn out parts depending on how it was driven, i.e. suspension, bushings, ball joints, maybe water pump, fuel pump stuff like that with that many miles.

I wish I'd of kept mine with 298k on it. I saw a CLEAN 2001 7.3 150kmi posted on another forum here in TX for $16k.

Kell-inKY":364wzry5 said:
I need a real farm truck, but can't afford something nice. I'm going to go look at a '91 F350 today. I have no experience with diesels, have heard these engines are bulletproof but I am assuming this one has at least 300k on it. What kind of maintenance for this type of engine, anything to look out for, any advice at all?

I do all of my own mechanical work on vehicles including rebuilding a few engines, but have no experience with injectors and the like. I don't really want something I have to work on all the time though either, I just don't have time anymore.