For my first post I shall ask a simple ?

Help Support CattleToday:

flatrock9

Reaction score
This may end up being one of the most asked questions but I'll ask anyway.

If you were looking at getting into the cattle business, how would you start off? Would you buy bred heifers, weaned heifers to breed later, cow/calf pairs, older bred cows, crossbred, registered pure breeds? Young herd bull or AI? My thoughts right now are that I want to buy 4-5 cows to get started to help me get a feel for things.

My father-in-law owns about 100 or so head so I'm not totally blind and without assistance. I'm also just an 'ol country boy from Alabama so I'm no stranger to hayfields and barbed wire fences.

So, if you were a complete novice what would your strategy look like?

What I've had the best luck with are 3 in 1's. A percentage of heifers are going to be problem calvers, won't make good mothers for various reasons, etc. A percentage of heifers that get through their first calf ok won't re-breed. 3 in 1's on the other hand are proven- what you see is what you get and she's going to have another calf. Registration papers aren't worth hooey unless you can talk somebody into thinking that paying you a premium for one of your registered calves is a good business decision- so you need to ask yourself if you want to play that game.

I would start with a pencil and a piece of paper. Map it out on paper and see if you can live with what you come up with, that is where I would begin.

My father-in-law's idea would probably be "Buy ya' old cows, breed 'em, sell 'em calves.". No doubt though, I plan on leaning on him for some of the more basic things ("What's that hanging out that cow's rear?" :D).