fescue no milk

Help Support CattleToday:

Agmantoo
In answer to your question yes and I am no expert by a long shot. But I know what works for me. All bulls differ but I would say the time and experience help bulls get good at what they do and prime for a bull would be 4 - 6 years old.
To explain I will tell you what I do I think I really push my main bull. I calve end of Feb 1st - May and again middle Sept. - near Christmas. Half spring half fall. There is 85 cows in this unit managed as one group. I take the bull out for several reasons if I don't cows gain 2 months per year causing inopportune calving and most heifer calves get bred at 7 - 8 months of age.
Getting back to your herd, by calving year round many of your cows probably come in at same time could not be evenly spaced 8 per month. Which is near 100 when 3 - 4 -5 cows come in same time. He will miss some. They will be back in less than a month. It is a snowballing effect. As he looses body condition he also looses seamen quality which causes more cows to take longer to get bred. Not to mention calves that start cycling.
While my bull was resting several months twice a year. I fed him some high quality feed and he put on several many hundred pounds flesh and really got ready for those cows.
Sounds like your pastures are really good which would say high fertility in not causing my problem.
Don't know why they eat dirt, does salt feeder ever get low so they lick where salt / mineral was spilt in past.
No implants however all heifers get fed rumensin from weaning through breading.
I compare with my neighbors all the time no one seems to have much problem other than I notice a tail switch missing sometimes.
One difference is most all never have any grass very seldom dose grass blades reach 1".The cattle eat all of the weeds and everything.
Cattle never been vaccinated and are lucky to be afforded white salt.