Fall/winter Grazing, MiG

Help Support CattleToday:

wstevenl

Reaction score
This is my first year with cattle, first year for our pastures, and first year doing MiG. We're moving the cows everyday to a new paddock and our rotations have taken around 55 days but we added a few cows 2 weeks ago and our rotations are now probably going to take 46 days (just estimating based on sq feet because we always make a new paddock with polywire). I'm trying to estimate how long we'll be able to graze into the fall/winter but I'm not sure how the forage will grow in the cold/frost/cool weather. We've got alfalfa/orchard/ladino clover/medium red clover/ and seedling fescue, timothy, and orchard in order of most to least in the pasture. We just recently got a good rain and the forages are growing back quickly.
My question is, how could I expect the grasses to grow back as the season gets colder? Will anything grow after the frost (supposed to be around Nov. 7th). Will clover continue to grow through cold weather? Should I assume that all our forage after the first week of Nov. will need to be stockpiled from before then?

Also, we have 2 acres of bermuda that we planted this year too. The bermuda is doing well but there is fox tail and other stuff in it too. I recently mowed it. After the bermuda turns brown could I graze it to remove what isn't bermuda? My horses won't touch dead, brown bermuda and I'm wondering if cows are the same way.