Cutting hay and splitting it

Help Support CattleToday:

critterair2

Reaction score
So were cutting hay for a lady down the street. All Bahia, bout knee high, fair amt of weeds. She gets half we get half, so far so good. Cut on Friday, let it sit all day Sat, turned it over Sat afternoon. Baled it Sun. afternoon. Was dry as dry could be. She was upset didn't think it was ready to be put up. Wanted it moved cause she was sure it was going to catch fire. I'm no super hay guru, but I've been putting up hay since I was about eight yrs old, 33 now. I had no worries whatsoever about this hay, nor would I have a problem feeding it to my own cows. Told her I'd take all the rolls she could have the next part of the field, cutting it in 1/3's. Next morning she's happy with the hay, roll weight was 1250lbs and rolled super tight. Today she doesn't like the rolls says her cows won't eat it, and that it was put up wet, still trying to figure out why she's putting out hay in Sept. Oh by the way, Sunday had about 20 knot winds all day due to Gustav heading up the gulf. Anybody think with that kind of wind it was really wet? Cut about ten acres this afternoon she called and said stop cutting. She wants to be 100% control in when we cut, when we hit it with the tedder, and when we bale. I think thats crazy, don't micromanage let me do what I know how to do. What do ya'll think? Cutting on halves ya'll let the property owner call the shots? We have never used a hay tester, thinking about buying one to test the rolls, just to see what the moisture content is. I've never had cows not eat hay that I've put up. Feel like picking up my tractor and toys and say "let someone else do it." Thanks guys for letting me vent.

Let someone else deal with her. Lifes to short to have to deal with people like that.Chances are everyone around knows her and probably won't deal with her.