crypto, round worm and coccidia

Help Support CattleToday:

Mullens

Reaction score
Crypto, round worm & coccidia treatment:

I inherited a few grass-fed beef cattle from my dad. (We currently have 1 bull, 4 cows and four unweened calves.) I am not a professional rancher. I bought a new young bull. Instead of gaining weight, he's lost weight. After getting tested by a vet, found out he has moderate levels of: crypto, round worm and coccidia. The vet says we need to use an oral drench syringe to treat the whole herd with fenbendazole for 5 days in a row. This includes a couple of month old calves. While we do have a loading shoot, we don't have a squeeze shoot. All of this seems very daunting, due to my lack of knowledge and lack of help (just me and my husband). Also, getting them to go into the pen them for 5 days in a row, when they know something unpleasant is coming, isn't going to be easy. Any suggestions? Or alternative treatments? (I am currently working with a homeopathic vet to increase their immunity.) Also, please note that we live in a suburb of Orlando, FL and not in a rural area where there are other ranchers nearby to provide assistance or advice. Thank you for any suggestions.

Does the rest of the herd show any symptoms? I assume the bull has been with them hence the blanket treatment recommendation. How long has he been there and do you rotate your pasture? How often?

The rest of the herd, except for the three youngest calves, have some diarrhea. They are still very plump and healthy looking. We bought the bull in November but kept him at my dad's (much smaller) pasture until March when we moved him to the main pasture at my house. We don't use really use rotation, although I understand the benefits of it when it comes to parasite life cycle.