Cow won't get up

Help Support CattleToday:

Hate to hear it but, if it's any solace, it's part of the drill. If you're going to run cows you're going to loose one now and then. Loosing a cow just made you a little less amateur.

Craig-TX

Sorry to hear it Andrew. No loss is "easy" but the first one can be the hardest/most memorable. The best we can do is try to learn from it.

I'm an amateur newbie rookie also. Dont get discouraged. I know you put a lot of time and effort into saving her. You did the best you could. Like fellersbarnoneranch said, "The best thing is to learn from it". I'm dreading the day I lose my 1st cow or calf.

Andrew
I am sorry to here of your loss. I have been following the conversation for a while. I am also new to running my own farm and have a problem of my own right now(lose Yearling). The advice you have gotten will help in the long run, I am using the advice and am moving to end my issue. I am not new to the cattle business, but have been out of it for the past twenty years(Military). My grandmother raised some of the best beef in WV before she passed away in 1998 and I don't believe she used a Vet very much for her cattle, however, the Vet was around quite a bit for her sheep and she may have gotten advice then for the cattle. Anyway, the best teacher is experience and some of the bitterest advice you have gotten on this forum has come from experienced people. Take it with a grain of salt and drive on to the best of your ability. Maybe the both of us will be able to count ourselves among the experienced in time. Good Luck!!

I've always been told "you can't save them all, you can't lose them all" it's somthing that comes with the business. just learn from it, and move on...

Andrew, sorry for the loss. Like has been said, it comes with the territory. I remember the first loss of a calf, we tried everything, followed doctor's orders, and it still died. Stuff happens. We learn and get on with it.

Katherine