City taxes on cell phone on county residents.

Help Support CattleToday:

hillrancher

Reaction score
This has be bothering me for years , today had time to ask questions. I Iive in the county I am being charge city taxes on my cell phone. The wireless company does not have equipment or office in the city. They said they could because the zip was from that city. Instructed me to go to the city to get my refund it was up to the city to take care of it. I went down, they said the wireless co. could not charge taxes because they had no franchis from the city. To collect taxes they had to have a franchis. Called the wireless back which was in Georgia they told me they could not send the document that authorized to collect taxes, but they were legal to collect taxes.
Comments please:

I am no legal expert but if the city is not reaping anything out of the taxes they are charging I dont see how it could be legal. Just what we need anyway are more taxes huh?

Circle H Ranch

If they are collecting the taxes but not paying them to the city, you would think the city would pursue that. Maybe the state attorney general would take an interest? They generally love that consumer protection stuff because it makes them look so good come election time.

No, Kenny what I'm wanting to do is have everyone pay me a dollar a month for the right to own a cell phone and a dollar a head for every cow that sold and just a dime a pound for cotton delivered to a gin. Each month I'll give out three free cell phones to people that can't afford them cause as you well know I'm just trying to help people out. :mrgreen: