CB, a good coat for damp, cold weather.

Help Support CattleToday:

I have two Carhartt coats. One with blanket lining that I wear the most and one with a quilted lining that is a lot warmer (it only gets worn in real cold weather). If money isn't an object and you want to stay warm and dry take a look at a Filson Packer coat. The shell is waxed heavy canvas material and it has a wool liner. They cost about 3 or 4 times what Carhartt will but they will keep you warm and dry no matter what Mother Nature tosses at you. I have worn and worn out lots of Filson clothing. They do wear like iron and are most likely over kill for the majority of people. But for those who spend there entire life out in that nasty weather they are well worth the money.

Alan":sy5gu0xa said:
Workinonit Farm":sy5gu0xa said:
I'm not CB, but I second your rave reviews on Carharrt's! I've been using them for winter work coats for at least 17 years. LOVE them! Warm and dry in rain, sleet, snow, freezing rain. I even have a Carharrt coveralls/jumpsuit (all one piece). I would be lost, in the winter, without it all. And for a topper, I have a great rabbit fur Bomber hat. :)

Sorry, but I'm having a real hard time believing you........ I think we need a picture of you in your carhartt coveralls and the rabbit fur bomber hat. :mrgreen:

Well, with the frigid weather that seems to be heading our way in the next few days, you just may get your wish! ;-) On my Facebook page, my profile pic, I'm wearing one of my Carharrt coats. ;-)

Deepsouth":3m5sg3d5 said:
M-5":3m5sg3d5 said:
Workinonit Farm":3m5sg3d5 said:
If you get one, you'll never go back to the others. :)
I've owned 3 in last 30 yrs. Still wear first one its faded bit does its job , it got faded from hanging on a fence post for 3 mths I took it off working and forget where I left it till I found it. It's tattered and torn some but works.

How on earth can you lose a jacket hanging on a fence post on a hobby farm for three months?

Lol