can you tell if there pregnant without a palp

Help Support CattleToday:

Billdevaul

Reaction score
I have a heffer I AI'd 62 days ago and I have not seen any real visible signs of heat but I am not that experienced that I would know for sure unless it was real obvious... without a vet checking how can I tell if she took or not? any suggestions are welcome... Thanks :cboy:

Wait another 7 months and see if she calves. :p

The vet check is the best.

put an estrus alert ($1) on her. if it turns red, she isnt bred.

(you will need another cow to be with her to assist in test implementation)

use the BioPRYN pregnancy test. they can tell you pretty easily for under $5.

http://5barx.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=1284

If you know your animals behaviorisms then you usually can tell.But not all change.I have cows that I can tell 2 weeks after they are bred because they completely change.One becomes a real sweetheart and lovres to be scratched when you usually can't get near her and another one who is always the most agreeable in the herd and never into any trouble becomes a total B**** and opens gates on her own and gets into all sort of trouble.Most of my heifers just kind of calm right down when they are bred.

We use Biopryn (sp?).
Anything after 30 days bred. Draw 2cc's of blood, put it in the mail (see there website or ask us for instructions) and usually within 48-72 hours of them recieving my samples I have results.
I love it. Hasn't been off so far. $2.50 ish cents a cow. Can't have the vet come out for that. They do any ruminant animal. We send our goats blood for testing as well.
The part I really like is I can draw the blood anytime I want and mail it the next day. You don't have to put it on ice or anything fancy.
We will never go back to having the vet out. Hope this helps.
Double R Ranch

http://www.biotracking.com