Calf with a cleft lip/nostril

Help Support CattleToday:

Mooma20

Reaction score
Hello, I accidentally posted this in the wrong thread earlier. I am new to this page so i apologize. I have tried searching but I didn't have any luck finding the info I am looking for. We have a calf that was born to a heifer and he has a cleft lip/nostril. I'm looking for feeding tips. This little guy was also possibly stuck in the birth canal too long or it was a difficult labor.

Attachments

• 20220307_102832.jpg
    20220307_102832.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 14
  • Screenshot_20220307-145135_Gallery.jpg
    Screenshot_20220307-145135_Gallery.jpg
    301.6 KB · Views: 14
welcome to the forum. I wish I could give you some advise but I have been fortunate so far that I have not had that problem. hope the little guy does well for you. good luck

welcome to the forum. I wish I could give you some advise but I have been fortunate so far that I have not had that problem. hope the little guy does well for you. good luck
Thank you! We are doing what we can for now! He made it through the night which is more than any of use thought would happen given how he looked when he got here.

We had one once that was a result of the cow eating Lupine at the wrong state of gestation. It usually doesn't have a good outcome. So sorry.

Seems like Gcreek had one that he raised up to a good enough size to eat. Don't remember it looking that bad though. He posted pictures of him on here time to time.

He is able to stand with some help and giving it his best shot! Got some fight in him! Won't let him suffer if the outcome starts to look grim. Thank you for all the comments!

Attachments

• 20220308_115725.jpg
    20220308_115725.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 19
  • Screenshot_20220308-111820_Messages.jpg
    Screenshot_20220308-111820_Messages.jpg
    535.4 KB · Views: 19
Found one of Gcreek's threads on his calf.