Buying Land In South Dakota/Wyoming

Help Support CattleToday:

grubbie":3ee9atn3 said:
I know of some land in a good location in Wyoming with corrals and hay land already there, how much are you looking for?

A significant amount, water is the primary concern. I'll drop you a PM, thanks.

msscamp":3i722ja8 said:
sanchez":3i722ja8 said:
msscamp":3i722ja8 said:
sanchez":3i722ja8 said:
Well hopefully I posted this in the correct forum. I've been reading and searching for the past week. I'm getting ready to retire from my telecom business and am looking for a change of pace. I have little experience with cattle, but I've owned and been around horses and sheep since I hit the ground. I'm currently in H ell-on-earth (Phoenix, AZ) and want to move to a colder climate.

So my question is, I'm looking to purchase a decent tract of land to live on full time in the Northwest/Central area, preferably in a cold climate that is cattle-friendly as I want to start a hobby cattle operation. I love South Dakota and Wyoming because of how sprawled out the areas are, and how unbelievably friendly people are. Is there anything in particular I should look for in the property search endeavor? According to the realtors I've talked to, soil is generally not an issue, and ground water (+ irrigation) is pretty common.

Any insight, or the occasional scolding is greatly appreciated.