buying feeder calves

Help Support CattleToday:

Calhoun Farm

Reaction score
I'm going to attend a feeder calf sale thursday night at my local barn and wondering what I need to look for in terms of size. 400lb steers are in the $550 to $600 range. I would prefer to buy a little smaller, but looking at the last sale in September there were only 9 calves brought thru that weighed less than 400lbs. I am a newb to these sales also and wondering how many do they bunch togather at a time? I've only got $2500 to spend so if all the small calves are brought in together and say there's 10 of them I'm screwed. I can' afford to buy 800 pounders.

400 lb steers are bringing around $750 locally. Don't think it would be worth you messing with to be honest.

With these record prices, and you being new to this, I'd say you better not buy a darn thing unless you take someone else with you to look at calves. Lots of sick ones go thru sale barns and once you get em home their your problem. As said before if you only have $2500 to spend I wouldn't bother. If you do end up buying a couple I would keep about $500 back for vet bills down the road. This could be a year to make a lot of money or lose a lot of money so I hope your ready to throw good money away as a learning experience.

These are not the years to be buying backgrounders to try and make a buck. Your better off trying to buy some smooth-mouthed bred cows, babying them and calving them out. Then you might actually have a chance at making a profit.

With 2500$ I wouldn't put it all in to 4 400lb calves. What are 200lb Holsteins bringing there? Here about 1.25cwt, if you could buy 10 of them you could make a profit. Or buy about 3 cheap third stage cows. Both will make money.

Aaron":3pv9qbh9 said:
These are not the years to be buying backgrounders to try and make a buck. Your better off trying to buy some smooth-mouthed bred cows, babying them and calving them out. Then you might actually have a chance at making a profit.