bull calf horns

Help Support CattleToday:

tlark19

Reaction score
none of my cows have horns but i have a new bull calf (1 day old ) that has a couple little dots on his head like he's gonna have horns...i've never had to deal with horns before so i'm new to this...they more than likely will come out as horns right?

Possible they are just scurs and will never develop into horns. I would watch him for a few months to see if they grow. If they get 2-3 inches long, just get him in a chute and use tree pruning loppers to lop them off as close to the head as possible. At that age it will be much less stressful than at weaning. Problem solved.

what causes scurs? I've got a big ol' yellow, big eared cow that didn't have her scurs until she was a yr. maybe and they are still growing but she has a polled looking head. last yr. she raised twins and this yr. she had a dandy bull calf. just wandering where the heck the scurs come from.

Acurs are a sperate gene set from horns. If they don;t have athe scur genes they won;t have scurs. There is also something about it being sex lnked but I don;t recall what exactly it is.

dun":23wnhb2f said:
Acurs are a sperate gene set from horns. If they don;t have athe scur genes they won;t have scurs. There is also something about it being sex lnked but I don;t recall what exactly it is.

Scurs are sex linked. A female calf must be homozygous (have 2 copies) to have scurs, a male calf needs only 1 copy of the gene.

randiliana":b5c5sj0i said:
dun":b5c5sj0i said:

Scurs are sex linked. A female calf must be homozygous (have 2 copies) to have scurs, a male calf needs only 1 copy of the gene.

While I tend to agree with this statement, this idea is still theory. The inheritance of scurs is still largely a mystery. There has been ongoing research into this for several years and there is still not an inheritance model that fits every occurence.

tlark19":508mmo6a said: