Best Terminal Breed

Help Support CattleToday:

Cross breeder #1

Reaction score
What is the best terminal breed for you to get maximum pounds and money?
For around here it would be charolais, and i see many people may answer the same way however has anyone ever used a blonde i knkow nothing about them just thouhgt it could be an option

I have some experience with blondes! :banana: :banana: :banana: :banana:

I suppose you refer to Blonde d`acuitaine. They are an exellent terminal breed. Very long, and smooth calves make for a relatively easy calving as compared to Charolais sired calves. Very good muscling, also in females, a great advantage over Limousine and Charolais in that regard. High growth, a tad lower than Simmental and Charolais, higher growth than Limousine.

Charolais. You won't get docked for that double muscling look on the rump that the limo with throw.

I ran a blond bull over brangus cows several yrs ago. They grew real well. Honestly, the females were much better than the males. I kept 6 or 7 as replacements. They had the best udders I've ever had on commercial cows. Perfectly level with a lot of forward volume. I know one thing though, they were highly susceptible to anaplasmosis. Lost 5 cows that yr. 4 were the blond crosses.

knersie i wouldnt want fullblood as the BWs are just HUGE most of my cows could handle 100 at a stretch but im staying at nothing over 90

Massey would like you to show me where you can find a double muscled limousin bull in the US. For the most part limousin do not carry the double muscle gene.
Cross breeder Its fairly easy to find a Fullblood Limousin with a low birth weight.

KNERSIE":3inc9we5 said:
Fullblood Charolais or fullblood limousin.

My Limi cross calves look really good. They are running 77 to 116# for BW, with most of them in the 90s. I have had no assists.
My low birth weight BA calves are not even close for growth. I think there will be a 100# difference in weaning weight.

Stocker Steve":3kscmujl said: