Barb Wire(Low Tech) Versus High Tensile Electric(High Tech)

Help Support CattleToday:

jhambley

Reaction score
I am repairing perimeter fencing and adding cross fencing to an 80 acre pasture I recently purchased.

I want this fence to be as maintenance free as possible in the long term. Although HT Electric looks to be the the easiest to install and a bit less expensive, it looks to have a high cost of maintenance/frustration.

For example, I've read the following things about HT Electric on these forums:

- My charger isn't working...Again!
- I keep relacing batteries
- I have a grounding problem
- My charger was hit by lightning and fried
- The weeds are shorting out my fence
- The plastic clips keep breaking and shorting out the system
- Ice storms knocked out the power to my fence
- etc, etc, etc

Although a barb wire fence may cost a bit more and not be as easily installed, it's "Low Tech" approach seems to hold many advantages.

I'm a computer programmer by day and I really don't want to turn my fence into another hardware problem / debugging exercise. In fact, the longer I work in high tech (over 25 years now) the more I think the Luddites are on to something. :)

In short, I'm leaning toward building a barb wire fence using "T" posts with a wooden post every 8-10 posts. Can anyone talk me out of it?

Thanks in advance for your opinions.

JH

jhambley":20v1ygfj said:
Can anyone talk me out of it?

JH

Wouldn;t even try. The majority of the problems with the powered fencing can usually be traced to not doing it right the first time.

dun