2 4 D question

Help Support CattleToday:

arkcowman

Reaction score
It seems someone told me 2 4 d requires cool weather application. Is this correct ? If yes, how hot is too hot to prohibit application ? If not 2 4 d what do you use for pasture weed control during hot (90's +) weather ?
I'm in North Mississippi. Also experiencing some rain shortfall.

I don't think the cool weather itself is the requirement. In order for most chemicals to work, the stomata, pores in the leaves, must be open for intake. Those pores close during hot days to reduce moisture loss. I wouldn't hesitate to use 24d during hot weather, but it will be more effective if you apply it late in the evening as the pores will open at night.

There are at least two types of 2 4 D. 2 4 D Amine should be used in hot weather. 2 4 D Ester is to be used in cool weather. I learned that last year when we did some spraying.

Farmgirl

I am not an expert, but I think 24D in Mississippi is a restricted use pesticide. If spraying in hot weather it may vaporize and can drift as much as a mile or more. Cotton, tomatoes and some yard turfs will almost die if you just bring an unopened container of the stuff around, they are that sensitive to it. I don't think you can use it either after April 15 or May 15 (cotton is up). If you spray your pasture now and it drifts and kills your neighbor's cotton or tomateos or some yard plants you likely will get to pay for the damages. Call your county agent and they can get you advice more acceptible to your area.

Important Characteristics of 2,4-D