what vaccines are a must

Help Support CattleToday:

lakeviewwalker

Reaction score
I am new to beef cows I am starting with a cow and 3 replacement heifers. I bought them from a neighbor who is a large dairy farmer with a small hobby heard of beef (30 Cows). He told me that he vaccinates them once when he weans them of the cow and that is it. Never has a problem and has been doing it for 40 years. He obviously knows cows and how to take care of them with a 200+ cow dairy operation obviously he vaccinates them but I guess I am wondering if there is something that I should give these beef cows or just roll with it I trust him and his years of experience but I also hear about all of the vaccines given and I get nervous thanks for the help

You can do as much or as little as you care to - every operation is different, and a vaccination program needs to be tailored to your needs, management, and risk factors.

I have a 'closed' herd; no fence-to-fence contact with any other cattle, only outside introduction to the herd in the past 18 years was a new bull, purchased 7 years ago.
Calves get two doses of a 5-way Clostridial bacterin/toxoid before they're 4 months of age. Steers and heifers that are not retained get Inforce 3 and a Pasteurella/Mannheimia bacterin/toxoid, then a booster of BoviShield Gold 5 two weeks later, just prior to weaning.
Cows and heifers get Spirovac L5 once a year, and a Clostridial booster every 3 years or so.
That's all I've felt that I needed, and it's served me well.
YMMV.

lakeviewwalker":2mp61mlg said: