What is the process for adding a watering hole?

Help Support CattleToday:

Hillsberger

Reaction score
I am new to all this and don't really know where to start. We lease our land to a fellow who brings about 350 head of cattle to graze half the year. There is very little standing water on our property, especially during Summer and Fall. I'd like to add a watering hole or stock pond to keep the herd hydrated but from what I've read there is a "right way" and a wrong way to do it.

I don't know (yet) if we have water rights and our property has neighboring ranches on two sides and open land and a lake on the other two sides. There are a few streams that are only active in the Winter and Spring.

I suspect I'd need to hire an engineer to take a look first but not even sure how I'd find one (Central CA). I assume I can't just widen one of the streams in a spot and let water collect?

Can anyone point me in a direction for starting this process?

Hillsberger":8lnpym11 said:
Thanks for the replies. I googled "farm extension office" and my county and nothing came up. Maybe it goes by another name? Is it the same as the Farm Bureau?

If we knew your location I am sure there is someone on this board that point you in the right direction.
The Farm Bureau is an insurance company.

I've built a few. Fixed a few that some tried to build. Failed to fix a couple and finally sealed them with bentonite. Some places require prior county approval. Sometimes it is simple. A contractor in your area will likely discuss options with you at no cost. Farmers in your area likely have experience. You need local expertise.

You need to get aquainted with your local USDA NRCS office. (Natural Resources Conservation Service) They offer technical assistance and advice for a project like yours, and possibly financial assistance.