What are the downsides to fall calving?

Help Support CattleToday:

NonTypicalCPA

Reaction score
I'm thinking about sharing my bull with a friend who is about 15 miles from me. However, he has a larger herd and will only consider the arrangement if he can breed for spring calves. We both have cow/calf registered herds and sell primarily as breeding stock. At first this sounded fine to me, but I've been thinking lately that having fall calves would probably lead to me having to hold them from the fall at age 12 months until the spring, which means more hay to feed. Normally I'd be looking to sell at 12 months of age. I'm guessing the market for breeding stock won't be as strong in the fall? I'm new to this so I'm looking for any feedback good or bad on fall calving.

He is a friend and it would be my call. He would be doing me a favor by freeing up a space for another heifer/cow on my small acreage, plus he would be feeding him 9 months out of the year. It's good for him as he has an aging bull and my bull has great genetics and looks as a 24 month old.

The calves aren't eating much except mama's milk for the first few months anyway, then when they do start your spring grass is in. I'm on a fall calving program, I put my bull in n Dec 15th.

Its not the first few months I'm concerned with. Its the second winter at months 13-16 feeding hay when they would normally have been sold.

Most of my cows start calving around November 1, which works well for me for a variety of reasons, but it may not work for you. What's your location? If you're up north it may be difficult to get your cows through the winter in good shape with calves nursing on them.

Just updated my profile for location. Yes I'm in SW Michigan. Any northern fall calvers on here with advice to share?

TennesseeTuxedo":1l7ybqyu said:
M-5":1l7ybqyu said: