today's work

Help Support CattleToday:

tncattle

Reaction score
my first time cutting hay.

me and another guy cut for about 7 hours - he had a nice, new john deere . This is me on an old Ford 6600. (My wife, daughter and son came to eat lunch with me - that's why you see a 3 year old in the picture.) Oh yeah, in the top pic I wasn't moving yet, notice the front end loader still down.

504789561_27a7c4239c.jpg

504789153_d536031b0c.jpg

504757798_0c2ce83abc.jpg

cowboyup216":213conxp said:
Looks like yall had a blast. How many rolls did ya get? How big are they?

We just finished cutting all three fields about 7 p.m. I actually started at 9 a.m. and my co-cutter got there around noon. I think they are gonna roll it tomorrow and however long it/that takes. In all I think we cut between 50-70 acres. I'm not really good at estimating acres so thats why the big variation on the guess. I did take about an hour and half for lunch and other stuff. I loved it! It did help that the temp. was around 75 and low humidity.

Did the number 2 boss lady get to help cut some grass too? I bet she did. ;-) She's definitely a darling.

Jogeephus":2g0ate4a said:
Did the number 2 boss lady get to help cut some grass too? I bet she did. ;-) She's definitely a darling.

She said "Daddy you cut the grass and roll it in balls and make the hay"

Let me clarify:

This is not my land or my equipment. I'm giving free help/labor to a man that has a registered Black Angus herd. This is my way of learning all I can before getting cattle of my own. On this particular land there is about 60-70 head on a total of about 120 acres.